ode to an iPod… so long old friend

Yesterday was a day of technological loss and deep sorrow. To cut to the chase – my iPod died. Better said, my iPod ‘fried’. How interesting that on the day Barak Obama opens his iPod playlist to the world, mine goes up in flames. I am currently teaching a class at Fuller entitled “Postmodern Theology and Contemporary Culture” and have been using music and film in the course. Wouldn’t you know it, but in the class I need technology in is the class that is killing off technology in the Keuss household. On Monday, my laptop froze and it now kaput, then yesterday while driving in to teach my class (listening to my podcast of “Wait Wait, Don’t Tell Me…” which is in the top 5 best things about a commute mind you…) my iPod screen just went blank and revealed a small grey frowny face icon that is a hold out from the Macintosh 128K days of the 1980’s. I went to an Apple store (have you been in these places?! My word… this is the techy fantasia par excellence) and was told after waiting for an appointment at the ‘Genius Bar’ – where the average age of the genius was 17 years old (I worked at summer camp on Hood canal when I was in high school… now kids service computer problems for the summer… I wonder if they get to sing songs and roast hotdogs over burning PCs in the stock room though…) and was swiftly told to let the mourning begin… my companion over many miles of I-5 was toast.

So hear is my swan song to my iPod who served me so well these past few years, set to that great death song of summer of 1961 – ‘Le moribond’ (Seasons in the Sun) by french singer Jacques Brel and later made a US hit in 1974 by Terry Jacks:

Goodbye, My iPod, my little one,
You gave me love and helped me find the sun,
And every time that I was down
You would always come around
And get my feet back on the ground;
Goodbye, My iPod, it’s hard to die
When all the birds are singing in the sky,
Now that the spring is in the air,
Whiff of flowers ev’rywhere,
I wish that we could both be there!

*sniff*… *sniff*… sorry, I need some time alone, dear reader… may you find appreciation in your Mp3 player today as I sit in silence…

3 Comments

Leave a Comment

  1. My condolences on your heartbreaking loss. Your eulogy was very touching. I shall listen to my Sansa and think of you this day.

  2. Wow. What an unforunate series of events. I never want to end up at the Genius Bar with any Apple product not still under warranty. I could possibly loan you a 4GB Nano until you finish your class if you are desperate. But it would mean I’d have to resort to using a Zune.

Leave a Reply

