bastard son of bono and the edge

soooooo, anyways, I finally checked my grades at Fuller’s incomprehensibly Windows only “pipeline”. Needless to say, they were less than stellar… why? Because, much like high school, I was graded on the amount of reading I did and the “reading journal” I provided as proof that I had read and comprehended the material. And, much like high school, I thought – this is dumb screw this class, this institution, AND this U2 loving professor. Which is really what I am writing about…

can’t we just let go of U2? If you can work:

I knew a girl, a girl named party
party girl

I knew a boy, a boy named crash
crash AND burn

into a sermon, please feel free. Otherwise, let’s just let this era’s Rolling Stones and the next era’s Creed continue to exist as a semi-decent band that evangelicals have flocked to, idolized, worshipped, and kept rich because of “their deep felt spirituality”.

Another reason my grade was so low – I based my final research paper on Devo’s post-modern existential problematic “Are We Not Men?” as a launching pad for an exploration fo the Imago Dei instead of U2’s new song.

PS: That video looks a LOT like another U2 video I saw in the late 80’s. Oh wait, they’ve spent 20 some odd years playing the same song, so I guess making the same video over and over should be expected.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment

  1. I’m not quite sure what to do with this anti-U2 polemic. I’ll give you ‘this era’s Rolling Stones’ (great band – comparing like with like), but to round this commentary out with Creed…? You have got to be kidding me. And yet, I concede, as one of the perpetrators, there has been a fair bit of U2-fellating going on on Theology Kung Fu thus far. (But is that so bad?)

    I’m not sure if the fact that U2 quotes are such an easy default (for some) bears witness to the viability of their contribution to discourse such as ours, or if it perhaps betrays some inherent danger. (Or maybe it’s a matter of preference and somebody’s just upset about their report card.)

  2. mmmmmm, polemic…

    “if the opinion isn’t extreme, it’s probablyt not worth having.”
    – Jimmy “white shoes” Fox

    and, now I can have a love/hate relationship with brannon because he is getting the degree i WANT – theology and culture, unfortunately American evangelicals fear culture, the same way they fear the incarnation.

  3. Let me say, I have always appreciated the catechismal form of “Q: Are We Not Men? A: We are Devo.” Or Tenacious D’s rendering in The Greatest Song in the World: Tribute – “He asked us: Be you angels? And we said: Nay – we are but men – ROCK!”

  4. I agree Brannon statement in the 1st posting – not quite sure what to make of the logic leap connecting U2 – Rolling Stones – Creed. I am trying to connect the dots… but not there yet.

    I do think that there has a bit of overdrive on the U2 fellating and your gag reflex is appropriate! Time to widen (maybe deepen?) the bandwidth – so who is going to give a blog on Henry Rollins/Black Flag voice in the today’s re-imagination of theological form if not YOU!

  5. I agree Brannon statement in the 1st posting – not quite sure what to make of the logic leap connecting U2 – Rolling Stones – Creed. I am trying to connect the dots… but not there yet.

    I do think that there has a bit of overdrive on the U2 fellating and your gag reflex is appropriate! Time to widen (maybe deepen?) the bandwidth – so who is going to give a blog on Henry Rollins/Black Flag voice in the today’s re-imagination of theological form if not YOU!

  6. creed + the stones = U2

    here’s the connection, and they come from two different angles…

    U2 has achieved mythical proportions, they are old, and they refuse to die, hence The Stones.

    U2 was always fairly decent. Evangelicals wrapped their sticky lil tentacles all over them and determined they were “great” simply because they believed in Jesus… a la Creed.

    Final synopsis: U2, a decent band that has been shoved down my throat as great becuase they “risked” to write about spirituality. A “risk” that was never really a risk because if yer decent and Christian, the Christian bookstores will make sure yer a millionare.

  7. Jimmy…Jimmy…Jimmy… where did get your ‘new math’ from? I still question whether the parts you decribe actually add up to the whole (or ‘Hole’ if this was a Nirvana bashing session…) of U2. Are there better bands? yes. Are there more ‘important’ bands (i.e. The Clash, REO Speedwagon)? Yes.

    But ‘lets be frank’ (to quote the One Bad Pig song…) and acknowledge that with regard to (1) stewardship of fame towards world change for the good, (2) writing songs that actually invite a large audience to listen rather than alienate (the old notion that if I only have a couple of fans at my show and no label wants my EP, I must be a genius), and (3) the fact that unlike most superstar/mega bands out there, they actually enjoy making music and are people who I dont worry about watching perform with my kids (Clara and Eilidh love watching the Slane DVD over and above Barney and Nora…isnt that somethin’?) – then I stand on my fellating of the band.

    To make the comparison to the Rolling Stones and Creed is just lame… I actually get my mind around this one…

    dear Lord, To those who have hears…let them hear…

  8. Fo’ reezy. How does he stay so hot? And to boot, how does he get away with that slicked-back 50s-greaser hair and dangly-earring vibe? *sigh*

Leave a Reply

